taking the peats home

 Image

On accepting the kind offer from Marina and Don John  (my new friends met on the ferry), I went off to Point to ‘take the peats home’ .  It was wonderful to take part in such an important event in the family peat calender and I was made feel most welcome by all present.   Don John told me that, in the past,  the area would have been full of families collecting their peat therefore creating  a wonderful sense of community and celebration at that time of year.  Researching this further,  I came across beautiful archive footage of cutting and taking the peats home in Lewis  on Scottish Screen Archive 

Image

I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and value the opportunity to meet such lovely warm people who welcomed me to their peat bank and home .  After a barbeque and much chat, music  and hilarity,  I  even had the experience of throwing the first peat on the fire !  Most lucky indeed!

Leave a Reply

